Bridging between the past, present & future


The now-closed rickety wooden bridge at the back of the Ganoderma Farm in Tanjung Sepat: it has a special place in my heart

Bridges always had a peculiar fascination for me. To me, it is a bridge between the past, present and the future.

On a sunny day, I drove alone to Tanjung Sepat. Visited the Ganoderma farm with all its glorious mushrooms. But the place I intended to visit was the bridge behind the premises. The bridge that a certain someone tripped over and whose feet went right through the near rotten timber.

I remember jumping up and down the bridge before that fateful accident in jest, scaring that certain someone. After that incident, I no longer thought it was funny to fool around with bridges anymore. Especially with the rickety ones.

On that sunny day, I stood motionless staring out into the wide open vista of the bridge as it meanders, disappearing into the sea. I played back the scene, the walk on the bridge, snapping photos after photos.

Beautiful yet bitter memories of another day in the past. Standing in the present looking back. Musing upon the future. Where I am standing reflects the past. Crossing the bridge could be the transition into the future.

Can the past be relived once more in my future? FG – this is for you.

Leave a Reply

